Soap Challenge: Tiger Stripes

For the December 2016 Great Cakes Soapworks challenge, I decided on the Dragon’s Blood fragrance oil from WSP.   And three colors: red, white, and black. (perfect for Dragon’s Blood.  Don’t you think?)

The technique is pretty straight forward.  Incorporate a tiger stripe into your design.  My soap is a simple one using the whole soap batch and pouring from one side and holding it mostly from one angle.  img_20161211_112648-01

The soap batter needs to be the perfect consistency.  If it is too runny or too thick it will make the outcome of the pour less than desirable.   This batch worked fairly well for me.  I tried another batch using the tiger striped technique using several different colors.  It was a lot like Goldy Locks and The Three Bears.  One color was too runny, another was just plain

I had tried another batch using this tiger striped technique using several different colors.  It was a lot like Goldy Locks and The Three Bears.  One color was too runny, another was just plain gloppy, and the third was just about right.  So I know that the consistency of the soap batter is extremely important!

Even though this batch was poured fairly evenly you will notice there seems to be three separate pours in the finished soap bar.  I’m not sure how I managed that. But the Tiger Stripes came out rather nicely.

img_20161211_113139-01

I will be giving this technique another try soon.

12 thoughts on “Soap Challenge: Tiger Stripes

  1. These are so beautiful, Cheryl! I had some sections in mine too that look like separate pours. Now I’m really curious to see if anyone has an explanation! 😃 Great job and beautiful colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

