Soap Collaborating | Mother & Daughter

Starting off the new year with the Amy Warden’s Great Cakes Soapworks Soap Challenge! This month is Soap Collaboration.   I loved doing this soap with my daughter, Ashley.   Here is a post of how it was done.

First I prepped the oils and lye mixture ahead of time.  When everything where the temperature I wanted, Ashley joined me and watched as I did the mixing just to workable stage.  Not quite trace.

Ashley took over the pouring and coloring portion of this soap.  She decided to do a gradient design.  Which was surprising to me because she doesn’t soap with me at all.  I’m still wondering where she got the gradient idea from as I haven’t tried this technique as of yet.   So we separated the green and white for the piping portion.  And the base was used as a whole and colored again after each pour to achieve the gradient effect in the photo below.

So we separated the green and white for the piping portion.  And the base was used as a whole and colored again and again after each pour to achieve the gradient effect in the photo below.

img_0136

We used Mad Oil micas with an addition of ground cloves in the last upper layer as well as titanium dioxide for the white portion.  There is a video at the end of this post to see how it was all put together.  We sort of worked on the colors together and I was preparing the piping while she was finishing up the last layers.

img_0129

Once the last layer was poured, I piped the white soap the way I liked it.  And then Ashley took over the rest of the decorating.  She had piped the little embeds the day before, so they were ready to be placed on top.  The green vines were piped last.  As you can see from the photo above…. she is quite happy with her creation!

img_0135

 

I have to admit… I really think she did a great job!  The soap was easy to unmold after 24+ hours.  The recipe used was my own personal favorite which included Cocoa Butter, Castor Oil, Coconut Oil and Olive Oil as well as Goat’s Milk.   The fragrance used was Pomegranate and Sweet Orange.  It’s a lovely scent that was given to me by Ashley as a Christmas gift!

Thanks so much for stopping in.  Watch how the soap was made in the video below!

 

17 thoughts on “Soap Collaborating | Mother & Daughter

  1. Very impressive!! You ladies tackled a quite complicated design and it came out beautifully!! Love the gradient layers, the piping, and the mother-daughter love!! Very professional video too. I was wondering what the specks in the top layer were. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Amy! The design was thought up by Ashley. She was definitely wanting to do the gradient effect even though I, personally, hadn’t tried it before. She had loads of fun! We both did. 😁

      Like

  2. I love the piped flowers on top. I have some piping tips, but I am yet to give it a go. Your layers agre great too and I bet it smells amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

